Disappointing Reads of 2017

There is nothing worse than reading a book and being completely and utterly disappointed in said book. Unfortunately that’s my list today. The following are books i read that in someway disappointed me. This doesn’t mean i didn’t enjoy reading them by any means. some of them are still rated pretty high, it just didn’t meet the expectations that i had in my head.

Kicking off our list i think is going to be the most disappointing is

Magnus Chase: The Ship of The Dead By Rick Riordan 

– I Still really liked this book, but it wasn’t a good conclusion. I was so excited for the apex of the book ( the battle ) and in the end i had to end up re-reading it because i wasn’t sure what exactly happened. I loved being back with some of my favorite characters, i just didn’t like this book as a conclusion to a series.

An Enchantment of Ravens By Margaret Rogerson 

– This Book was WAY overhyped. I feel like it had a lot of potential but ultimately fell flat. The books was really short, so there wasn’t a lot of world building which i felt could’ve add to the story considering its based on Faye. The main plot was an artist gets commissioned to make a painting for a faye prince since the faye themselves cannot create anything considered an art themselves , she ends up painting sorrow in his eyes and is captured for that. It’s a great concept but needed more pages to execute a better story.

Shatter Me By Tahereh Mafi 

– Here is another book that was hyped everywhere i seemed to look, and honestly i don’t see what the big deal was. The story was alright, but i often found myself just wanting to finish it so it would be over. Also everybody is always going on about warner and juliet but i detest warner in this book. Maybe things change in the other two books which i might read because i own them.( i have a small book buying problem thanks to book outlet)

A List Of Cages By Robin Roe 

– The first thing i will say about this book is yes it is sad, and yes it talks about a very important topic of child abuse. That being said for some reason i expected more going into it. It’s not that it was bad i just felt it was missing something and i can’t even pin point what exactly it is that i felt it needed. To me it just wasn’t what i expected it to be.

Empress of A Thousand Skies – Rhoda Belleza 

– I received this in one of my book subscription boxes. I was super excited to read it, even though i only had a basic idea based on the synopsis. I was sad i didn’t like it, i felt like the story moved to fast, but i just wasn’t excited about anything that was happening. i didn’t like the main character or any of the side characters. It was all just alright, which is why i was so disappointed.

Stalking Jack The Ripper By Kerri Maniscalco 

– Another very popular book that was really hyped on youtube. It wasn’t bad, i did like reading it. The Entire idea is very intriguing to me! I also really loved the setting, i think that was my favorite part of the entire book. That being said i unfortunately guessed the ending. I didn’t mean to but i was just talking out loud to myself ( as one does) and said hey wouldn’t it be funny if it was this person, and that’s who it turned out to be. The Sequel felt the exact same way to me as well. They are quick and easy reads, its just not OMG worthy.

The Valient By Lesley Livingston 

– I was sold on this book with the premise of a female gladiator. That alone completely just grabs my attention. while i did like it, i wanted so much more than what was given in this book. It just fell very flat for me, i will be reading the sequel but i don’t have high hopes. I just wanted more action and culture than what was actually given.

The Archived By Victoria Schwab 

– This was a MAJOR let down for me. Everyone always hypes this book up in their reviews or on youtube. I’ve also read other books by the same author and loved them so that was also disappointing. I thought the plot itself was interesting, and the execution was alright. i just don’t think i agree with all the hype, and was just let down because this was built up in my head to be amazing and it just wasn’t.

Daughter of the Burning City By Amanda Foody 

– Another very hyped book when it first came out. The main plot was about a girl who is in a travel circus of sorts is able to make her creations/ drawings come to life and all of a sudden someone starts murdering them. It’s very interesting however i just found kind of boring. It definitely wasn’t as good as it was let on to be.

So there it is, again its not that i hated these or disliked them they just didn’t meet my expectations.

Happy Readings!!

 

 

 

Leave a comment